Toshiba Classic Champions


Couples Trophy


Fred Couples broke through what was at one point a nine-way tie for the lead, when he birdied the 18th hole and clenched his second Toshiba Classic title. Couples birdied his last two holes and shot 65-67-66—198, 15 under par, in his one-shot victory over Colin Montgomerie, Steve Pate and 2008 champion Bernhard Langer. The win gives Couples his 10th Champions Tour victory.


2013 - david frost

Frost and Trophy


South African David Frost captured his fourth Champions Tour title by shooting a final round 65 to defeat 2010 champion Fred Couples by five strokes.  Frost became the fifth wire-to-wire winner and tied the tournament record of 19-under par 194 set in 2007 by champion Jay Haas.

2012 - loren roberts

Loren and Trophy


Loren Roberts punctuated his final round with a 10-foot putt for a birdie on the par 5 18th finishing hole to shoot a 69 and capture his 13th Champions Tour victory.  The "Boss of the Moss" and two-time Charles Schwab Cup Champion battled wind and other gusty conditions to capture his first win since the 2010 season.


Nick and Trophy

Nick Price, a three-time major champion on the PGA TOUR, began the week by shooting a course, tournament, and Champions Tour record score of 60, capped off by a dramatic chip in for eagle on the par 5 18th finishing hole. While others pursued him throughout, it was Price who prevailed with two rounds of 68 on the weekend to win by one stroke and become the fourth wire-to-wire champion in Toshiba Classic history.


2010 - Fred Couples

Couples and Trophy

In one of the most highly anticipated debuts in Toshiba Classic history, Fred Couples certainly didn't disappoint as he rolled to a four-stroke victory. His second round 64 included a tournament record 5-under par, 30 on the front nine. After three rounds in blustery conditions, his total of 195, was only one-stroke short of the tournament record set in 2007.



2009 - Eduardo Romero

A final round 68, which included four birdies in the first six holes on the back nine on Sunday, propelled Romero to a one stroke victory over Mark O'Meara and Joey Sindelar. His back nine charge at Newport Beach Country Club gave Romero his 100th career worldwide professional victory.

2008 - Bernhard Langer

In yet another memorable finish in Toshiba Classic history, Bernhard Langer won a seven-hole playoff over defending champion Jay Haas to win in his inaugural visit to Newport Beach. Langer, a two-time Masters Champion, birdied the final hole of regulation to force the playoff and then held off Haas in the playoff.

2007 - Jay Haas

In claiming victory at the 2007 Toshiba Classic, Jay, Haas, the 2006 Champions Tour Player of the Year, blew past the 5-year-old tournament scoring record by finishing at 19-under par 194. In the 54 holes of competition, his rounds of 65-64-65 were the low rounds each day and included only one bogey for the week.

2006 - Brad Bryant

In the final round of the 2006 Toshiba Classic, Brad Bryant rallied for victory with birdies on five of his final eight holes, including the last hole of regulation to clinch the victory. Bryant's final round of 66 gave him a three-day total of 9-under par 204 and his first PGA Champions Tour victory.

2005 - Mark Johnson

In one of the most thrilling finishes in the history of the PGA Champions Tour, tour rookie Mark Johnson holed out from 91 yards for eagle on the 18th hole on Sunday to capture his first professional victory. In 2006, Johnson almost became the first back-to-back winner of the Toshiba Classic, but fell one stroke shy of a playoff.

2004 - Tom Purtzer

Tom Purtzer opened the tournament with a new course record round of 60 and never looked back. A three-day total of fifteen under par capped off with a final round 67 put the finishing touches on one of the most memorable tournaments. Purtzer's round of 60 still stands as the lowest round ever shot in the history of the PGA Champions Tour.

2003 - Rodger Davis

Rodger Davis carried a two-stroke lead into the final round of the 2003 Toshiba Classic and with birdies on three of his last eight holes, ran away with a four-stroke victory. His final round 68 carried him to a 54-hole score of 197, one stroke off the 54-hole tournament record set the previous year.

2001 - Jose Maria Canizares

In the second nine hole playoff in five years, Jose Maria Canizares rolled in a 21-foot birdie putt to defeat Gil Morgan and claim his first PGA Champions Tour victory. Canizares worked his way into the playoff from five strokes back at the start of the final round, tying a Toshiba Classic record.

2000 - Allen Doyle

Allen Doyle claimed the 2000 Toshiba Classic with birdies on five of his last eight holes during the final round to win by one stroke over Jim Thorpe and Howard Twitty. In all, Doyle has posted seven top-10 finishes at the Toshiba Classic, including his win in 2000 and runner up finishes in 1999 and 2002.

1999 - Gary McCord

Gary McCord claimed his first PGA Champions Tour victory in a rousing playoff with John Jacobs, Allen Doyle and Al Geiberger. In what is still considered one of the greatest finishes in Champions Tour history, McCord made birdie on the fifth playoff hole to secure the victory.

1998 & 2002 - Hale Irwin

As the only two-time champion, Hale Irwin has clearly left his mark on the Toshiba Classic. In 1998, a final round, course record 62 propelled him to a one-stroke victory one of his six wins on the season. 2002 offered more of the same as Irwin shattered the tournament record with a 17-under par score and a 5-stroke victory. Both victories helped Irwin claim Champions Tour Player of the Year honors.

1997 - Bob Murphy

Bob Murphy outlasted Jay Sigel in what was then the longest playoff in PGA Champions Tour history. The nine-hole playoff dramatically ended when Murphy rolled in an electrifying 80-foot birdie putt on the two-tiered 17th green to capture a sudden-death victory that was anything but sudden.

1996 - Jim Colbert

Jim Colbert entered the final round at the inaugural Toshiba Classic at Newport Beach Country Club with a 5 shot lead and cruised to a 2-shot victory in becoming the tournament's first wire-to-wire champion. His title helped pave the way to a second consecutive PGA Champions Tour Player of the Year award.

1995 - George Archer

George Archer triumphed at the 1995 Toshiba Classic, the only time the event was held outside of Newport Beach Country Club. In what would prove to be a pattern at the Toshiba Classic, Archer squeaked out a narrow one-stroke victory, shooting a final round 64 capped off by his tournament-clinching 25-foot birdie putt on the 17th hole.